Official Nomination Form

The Virginia Interscholastic Association Hall of Fame is organized as a means of recognizing and preserving the rich heritage and legacy of African American (Black) high school sports and activities under the direction of the VIA from 1954-1970 and promoting greater appreciation and understanding of the contributions of Blacks to the history of high school sports and activities in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Nominees must have exemplified the highest standards of sportsmanship, ethical conduct, moral character, and carry the endorsement of their respective high school.

All candidates will be judged on their significant and/or long term contribution to interscholastic athletics and activities. While many served their school and local programs over a long and distinguished career, their accomplishments must have have been worthy of state recognition for them to be considered. Longevity, without meaningful state impact, does not constitute appropriate credentials for Hall of Fame Consideration.

Download the Hall of Fame Application

Download the Hall of Fame 2019 Inductees

Download the Hall of Fame 2018 Inductees

Download the Hall of Fame 2017 Inductees


Twelve individuals who have made outstanding contributions through high school, college and professional careers have been selected to the 2019 class of the Virginia Interscholastic Association Heritage Association (VIAHA) Hall of Fame.



Charles Bonaparte – Armstrong HS, Richmond
Benjamin “Benny” Brown – Carter G. Woodson HS, Hopewell
Warren Canada – Dunbar HS, Lynchburg
Robert “Bobby” Dandridge – Maggie L. Walker HS, Richmond
Fred Harold “Doc” Sawyer – Booker T. Washington HS, Norfolk
Louis Richard Harris – Parker-Gray HS, Alexandria

William Bailey – Booker T. Washington HS, Suffolk
James “Blue” Earley – Phenix HS, Hampton
Carl Peal, Peabody/Petersburg HS, Petersburg

William Albert “W. A.” Brown, Principal, Carver HS, Chesterfield County
Cheryl Anthony Epps – Southside HS, Dinwiddie County
Roger Gregory – Peabody/Petersburg HS, Petersburg

Members of the Class of 2019 will bring total membership to 62. The fourth annual Hall of Fame Banquet will be held at 5:00 p.m. on Friday, June 28, 2019 at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, Charlottesville, VA.

Contributions to The VIA Heritage Association are tax exempt under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.